T

Select a campus   CU  CS | HC W | B T

Tollgate Primary
a campus of the
Bury St Edmunds All-Through Trust

Home At School School Data What‘s on Admissions Contact Search About the Bury Trust
 

Tollgate Primary Campus

Tollgate School is situated in pleasant, spacious grounds. Our pupils are drawn from the immediately surrounding areas of town, but also from the Barton Hill district and the Fornham villages.

Our 2017 Ofsted graded Tollgate as ‘Good’ and where “pupils enjoy going to school” and “feel happy and well looked after.” Parents reported to Ofsted that they “are delighted about the work of the school” and Ofsted found that “Teaching is effective and good practice is shared across the school.”

Ofsted were also clear about the value of Tollgate being in the All-Through Trust. They said “through the Bury St Edmunds All-Through Trust, leaders ensure that the curriculum is exciting, rich and balanced” and “[the Trust] is invaluable as it increases leaders’ capacity to sustain improvement”.

You can read the full Ofsted report by clicking the image on the left.

Going All-Through
This is a time of great change in education nationally. While other schools locally are adjusting to their recent move to a two-tier system, our schools are already established and very confident with the forward looking All-Through system. As a result, all the schools in our Trust are able to focus solely on our core mission of helping every pupil to reach his or her potential by providing a seamless education from 4-19.

Any child in Year 4 who is not already in our system can choose to move into the All-Through Trust. Indeed, parents with children of all ages are very welcome to attend one of our open events and/or to have an individual tour. To find out what you need to do and how to get an application form visit the admissions page.

If you would like any of the information on this web site in printed form please contact us. We make no charge for this.

Events

Tue 26 Sep 2017
European Day of Languages

Wed 27 Sep 2017 - 14:45 to 15:15
Tea with Mrs B

Thu 28 Sep 2017 - 09:45 to 14:00
Dolphin Class National Poetry Day Event

Fri 29 Sep 2017 - 11:00 to 13:15
Year 3 Royal Ballet Demonstration

Fri 29 Sep 2017 - 11:45 to 13:15
Grandparents' Lunch - Reception and Year 1

Fri 29 Sep 2017 - 13:45 to 15:15
Y2 Fire Brigade Visit

Sat 30 Sep 2017 - 09:30 to 13:30
Westley Taster Session

Mon 2 Oct 2017
Clubs start

Tue 3 Oct 2017 - 09:15 to 12:00
Year 4 Rainforest Morning

Fri 6 Oct 2017 - 11:45 to 13:15
Grandparents' Lunch - Years 2,3 & 4

Sat 7 Oct 2017 - 10:00 to 12:00
Tollgate Open Morning for Prospective Families

Tue 10 Oct 2017
Year 4 PE Day at Westley Middle

Wed 11 Oct 2017 - 09:30 to 15:00
Tollgate Open Day

Sat 14 Oct 2017 - 09:30 to 14:00
Horringer Court Taster Session

Fri 20 Oct 2017
PD Day - School closed to all pupils

Mon 23 Oct 2017 to Fri 27 Oct 2017
Autumn Half Term - School closed to all pupils

Thu 2 Nov 2017
Year 4 Science Day at Horringer Court

Tue 7 Nov 2017 - 15:40 to 17:30
Parents' Evening

Thu 9 Nov 2017 - 17:00 to 19:00
Parents' Evening

Mon 13 Nov 2017 to Fri 17 Nov 2017
Anti Bullying Week

Mon 13 Nov 2017
Nasal Flu Immunisation

Tue 14 Nov 2017 - 14:30 to 15:00
KS2 Phonics Workshop

Wed 15 Nov 2017 - 18:00 to 20:00
Horringer Court Open Evening

Thu 16 Nov 2017 - 14:30 to 15:00
Reception & KS1 Phonics Workshop

Fri 17 Nov 2017
Children in Need

Wed 22 Nov 2017
Dental Screening

Wed 22 Nov 2017 - 19:00 to 20:15
Westley Open Evening

Currently

Tour of BritainTour of Britain

On Friday 8th September, the Tour of Britain cycle race came past school. We spent some time learning about the race and creating flags, banners and signs. The whole school went out onto Tollgate Lane to wave their flags and cheer the riders on. The children enjoyed seeing the riders, but also all the vehicles (police, motorbikes and team cars) that support the race. We were on the live footage of the race, but sadly we did not make the highlights show.

Field of DreamsField of Dreams

The Reception and Nursery children all visited The Field of Dreams on Thursday 29th June. The children enjoyed their coach ride to the farm and wanted their lunch soon after our arrival! After a tour of the farm, we set to work on our activities. The children had the opportunity to feed the animals, collect the chicken and duck eggs, hold the baby rabbits, plant some seeds and pick some wild flowers! Highlights of the day included Mrs Bailey getting the pig to sit on command (it had been trained!) and the chicken stealing Mrs Wappett's sandwich! The farm volunteers were impressed by the children's manners and excellent behaviour. Well done!

Summer FayreSummer Fayre

Thank you to everyone who supported our Summer Fayre - it was a great success! There was a good variety of stalls on offer, from hook a duck to biscuit decoration. Face painting proved as popular as ever. Thank you for all your donations of teddy bears and items for the rainbow tombola. The highlight had to be Sponge the Teacher. Well done to all the staff who took part.

Newsletter

 

 

Awards and Affiliations
Parent Mail
CEOP Report
SEN/D Report