CU

Select a campus   CU | HC H W | B T

County Upper
a campus of the
Bury St Edmunds All-Through Trust

Home At School School Data What‘s on Admissions Contact Search The Bury Trust
 

South Pacific at The Apex

County Upper School

County Upper Logo

Success at the Bury St Edmunds All-Through Trust 13-18 County Campus is built on a strong partnership between teachers, parents, students and governors; a partnership which flourishes in an atmosphere of mutual trust and respect, where every individual is known and valued.

We are very proud that our young people feel secure and happy and enjoy coming to school and that our "can do" attitude ensures that our students achieve excellent results at all levels of ability: results which reflect, and frequently exceed, their potential.

Going All-Through
This is a time of great change in education nationally. While other schools locally prepare to move to a two-tier system, our schools have already reorganised into the forward looking All-Through system. As a result, all the schools in our Trust are able to focus solely on our core mission of helping every pupil to reach his or her potential by providing a seamless education from 4-19.

Any child in Year 4 who is not already in our system can choose to move into the All-Through Trust. Indeed, parents with children of all ages are very welcome to attend one of our open events and/or to have an individual tour. To find out what you need to do and how to get an application form visit the admissions page.

Events

Thu 29 Jan 2015 - 16:30 to 19:00
Year 10 parents' evening (2)

Fri 30 Jan 2015
Year 11 scoresheets to parents

Fri 30 Jan 2015 to Fri 6 Feb 2015
German exchange group to Bonn

Mon 2 Feb 2015
Year 10 mathematics team challenge

Mon 2 Feb 2015
Year 11 History Scene workshop

Mon 2 Feb 2015
AS/A2 art paper issued to students

Wed 4 Feb 2015 - 18:00 to 21:00
Astronomy Evening

Thu 5 Feb 2015
Intermediate Mathematics Challenge

Thu 5 Feb 2015 - 16:30 to 18:00
Year 11 parents' evening (1)

Sat 7 Feb 2015 - 19:30 to 22:00
PTA Ceilidh

Mon 9 Feb 2015
Science Community Event at the Arc (tbc)

Mon 9 Feb 2015
Interviews for prospective external year 12 students this week

Mon 9 Feb 2015
Year 13 Chemistry visit to Treatts for Spectroscopy workshop this week

Wed 11 Feb 2015 - 16:30 to 19:00
Year 11 parents' evening (2)

Thu 12 Feb 2015 to Fri 20 Feb 2015
Ski Trip

Thu 12 Feb 2015
Year 11 German speaking tests (Mr Staples' group)

Fri 13 Feb 2015
Year 12/13 interim assessments to parents

Fri 13 Feb 2015 to Mon 16 Feb 2015
History/Art and Design trip to Paris

Mon 16 Feb 2015 to Fri 20 Feb 2015
Half Term

Tue 24 Feb 2015
Year 12 Psychology trip to Cambridge

Wed 25 Feb 2015 - 16:30 to 19:00
Year 12 and 13 parents' evening

Mon 2 Mar 2015
French speaking tests (Mrs Duverne's group)

Wed 4 Mar 2015
Year 9 and 10 interim assessments to parents

Thu 5 Mar 2015
Year 10 tutor team follow-up interviews with students only in next three weeks

Thu 5 Mar 2015 - 19:00 to 21:00
Year 9 Information Evening and Options Fayre for parents and students

Fri 6 Mar 2015
Year 11 GCSE Chemistry visit to 'Science Live' in London

Mon 9 Mar 2015
GCSE PE practical mock this week

Mon 9 Mar 2015
Year 9 (students and parents) daytime tutor interviews this week

Thu 12 Mar 2015 - 19:00 to 21:00
Academy Trust Concert

Mon 16 Mar 2015 to Fri 20 Mar 2015
National Science and Engineering Week

Mon 16 Mar 2015
Year 11 GCSE Art exam week

Wed 18 Mar 2015 - 19:30 to 21:30
Spring Concert

Thu 19 Mar 2015
BBC School Report News Day

Fri 20 Mar 2015
Return of Year 9 option choice forms

Sun 22 Mar 2015 - 10:00 to 11:00
CUS on duty at the Cathedral

Mon 23 Mar 2015
Spanish Exchange group to Guadalajara in next 3 weeks

Tue 24 Mar 2015
Year 13 visit to The Sanger Institute

Thu 26 Mar 2015
Non uniform day

Thu 26 Mar 2015
CERN trip to Geneva

Thu 26 Mar 2015 - 19:00 to 21:00
Evening of Dance

Fri 27 Mar 2015 to Thu 2 Apr 2015
Geography/Latin trip to Bay of Naples

Fri 27 Mar 2015
Spring term ends

Currently

6th Form6th Form

The deadline for applications from external students to Year 12 for next September is 31st January.
Internal students who have already expressed an interest in joining the sixth form need do nothing at this time. More information here

Science Learning PartnershipScience Learning Partnership

The national network of Science Learning Centres and partnerships aims to support teachers and technicians in:

 - enhancing their professional skills

 - inspiring pupils by providing them with a more exciting, intellectually stimulating and relevant science education.

More information here... http://slp.bsecus.org/ 

 

Newsletters

ParentPay website
School Email
Suffolk Direct Training CUS Logo Bar